Draft and final recommendation reports for East Lindsey, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

East Lindsey

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of East Lindsey between September 2012 - May 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each East Lindsey councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in East Lindsey, was made on 7 May 2014 and was published 13 May 2014). New ward arrangements for East Lindsey have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for East Lindsey can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/1189/introduction/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 26 February 2014 the East Lindsey (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for Englands review of electoral arrangements in East Lindsey and published in 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for East Lindsey in 2015.

The draft order can be found here :

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111110218/memorandum/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in East Lindsey

On 19 November 2013 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in East Lindsey District Council. The report is available in the link below.

Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for East Lindsey District Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release

Letter to the Chief Executive of East Lindsey District Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note that this map is a large file and take some time to load.

To interact with the final recommendations visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of East Lindsey District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 14 May 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of the East Lindsey District Council. Between 14 May 2013 and 5 August 2013 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 5 August 2013 

Below are the submissions we received:

District councillors

We received 11 submissions (PDF) from district councillors

Local residents

We received 7 submissions (PDF) from local residents

Parish and Town Councils

We received 13 submissions (PDF) from parish and town councils

Political groups

Skegness Conservatives (PDF)

Local organisations

Louth Area Forum (PDF)

Pleasant Residents' Association 1 (PDF)

Pleasant Residents' Association 2 (PDF)

Local Authority

East Lindsey District Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

You can also make a submission to the East Lindsey electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

The Review Officer (East Lindsey)
Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street
London
EC1M 5LG
An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

Consultation on ward boundaries

On 27 November 2012, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for East Lindsey District Council. Between 27 November 2012 and 18 February 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Parish and town councils

Consultation documents:

Here are the electorate figures (XLS) for East Lindsey. 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation portal. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say. 

You can also make a submission to the East Lindsey electoral review, thorugh consultation.lgbce.org.uk, sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

The Review Officer (East Lindsey)
Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
76-86 Turnmill Street
London
EC1M 5LG

Council size consultation

On 3 September 2012 we started an electoral review of East Lindsey District Council. From 3 September 2012 to 15 October 2012 we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent East Lindsey in the future.

Consultation closed on 15 October 2012.

Below are the submissions we recieved:

Parish & town councils

All the submissions are contained in one PDF document. At the front of the document there is a list of names with internal links to the relevant submissions

East Lindsey parish & town councils (PDF)

Local residents

Fisher R (PDF)

Jackson R (PDF)

Topham S (PDF) 

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council and two councillors. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and sought views on its proposal for a council size of 55 members for East Lindsey Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To view an interactive map of the existing wards visit our consultation portal.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2012.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with East Lindsey District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received submissions from the Council and a joint submission from Councillors Mossp and Webb on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report, (PDF) published on 25 March 1997

Draft report, (PDF) published in October 1996.