LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Boston

Recommendations become law

The Boston (Electoral Changes) Order 2013, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new division boundaries in Boston, was made on 16 January 2013.

New electoral ward arrangements for Boston have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the next scheduled county elections in 2015.

The order for Boston can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2013/66/contents/made 

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 20 November 2012 The Boston (Electoral Changes) Order 2013 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order, if made, would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England's review of electoral arrangements in Boston and published on 16 October 2012.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Boston in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2013/9780111531020/pdfs/ukdsi_9780111531020_en.pdf

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Final Recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Boston

On 16 October 2012, we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Boston. These are available through the links below. 

Map of the area recommendations:

To interact with the final recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode and 'Have your say'.

We have now completed our electoral review of Boston Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the survey. Click here to go to the opinion survey.

Draft Recommendations

On 19 June 2012 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Boston Borough Council. We consulted on our draft recommendations from 19 June to 30 July 2012.

Consultation closed on 30 July 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Political group and councillors  

Parish councils

Local organisations

Local residents

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps are very large and may take some time to download.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive of Boston Borough Council (PDF) and our public news release provide details on the consultation and the review in general

You may find the electoral figures for Boston (XLS), maps of parished and unparished areas (PDF), and the existing wards (PDF) in Boston useful.

Boston Borough Council also provided a map of polling districts (PDF).

Information gathering and analysis

Following preliminary discussions with Boston Borough Council, on 17 January 2012, the Commission started a period of information gathering for new warding arrangements for the council. From 17 January to 9 April we invited local people and other interested parties to provide information on new warding arrangements for the authority.

Consultation closed on 9 April 2012.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local authority

Councillors

Parish councils

Local residents

The Commission is minded to recommend a council size of 30 for Boston, following the receipt of evidence supporting this number from Boston Borough Council. Here is the submission from Boston Borough Council (PDF)

To find out more about the review read our news release

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Boston Borough Council (PDF)

You may wish to read our detailed guidance on the review process - Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF) This document provides information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.