Draft and final recommendation reports for North West Leicestershire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

North West Leicestershire

image map Final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of North West Leicestershire between January 2013 - November 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Leicestershire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in North West Leicestershire, was made on 5 November 2014 and was published 19 November 2014). New ward arrangements for North West Leicestershire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for North West Leicestershire can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3060/pdfs/uksi_20143060_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 16 July 2014 the North West Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in North West Leicestershire and published on 25 February 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for North West Leicestershire in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111118184/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 25 February 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in North West Leicestershire District Council. The report is available in the link below.

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of North West Leicestershire District Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 10 September 2013 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of North West Leicestershire District Council. Between 10 September 2013 and 18 November 2013 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 18 November 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Harding E (PDF)

Nettleton C (PDF)

Nettleton R (PDF)

Nettleton R (PDF)

Palmer S (PDF)

Siddon D (PDF)

Wakefield P (PDF)

Parish and District Councillors

Parish Councillor Mills (PDF)

Parish Councillor Jones (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Ashby Woulds Town Council (PDF)

Castle Donington Parish Council (PDF)

Hugglescote Le Heath Parish Council (PDF)

Measham Parish Council (PDF)

Whitwick Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

North West Leicestershire Labour Group and Labour Party (PDF) 

The draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with our draft recommendations click on our overview map of the recommendations. You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

On 26 March 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for North West Leicestershire District Council. Between 26 March 2013 and 4 June 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority. 

For more information read our news release and the Letter to the Chief Executive of North West Leicestershire District Council (PDF)

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

Consultation closed on 4 June 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

Dawson R (PDF)

Neilson A (PDF)

Perry J (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Hugglescote and Donington Parish Council (PDF)

Measham Parish Council (PDF)

Ashby Woulds Town Council (PDF)

Whitwick Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Clarke (PDF)

PCllr Watson (PDF)

Cllr Wyatt (PDF)

PCllr Mills (PDF)

PCllr Smith (PDF)

Political Groups

North West Leicestershire Labour Group (PDF)

North West Leicestershire Conservative Group (PDF)

North West Leicestershire Labour Group (2) (PDF)

On 8 January 2013 we started an electoral review of North West Leicestershire District Council. From 8 January 2013 to 18 February 2013 we invited proposals on the number of councillors who should represent North West Leicestershire in the future.

The first stage of an electoral review was to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from the council which are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 38 members for North West Leicestershire Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size and view an interactive map of the existing wards visit our consultation area.

Consultation closed on 18 February 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

Bigby D (PDF)

Johnson S (PDF)

Smith C (PDF)

Williamson T (PDF)

Parish Councils

Measham Parish Council (PDF)

Whitwick Parish Council (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Clarke (PDF)

Local Organisations

Leicestershire Police (PDF)

Political Groups

Warren Hills Labour Party Branch (PDF)

Local Authority

North West Leicestershire District Council (PDF)

Labour Group (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Our document, Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance (PDF), contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with North West Leicestershire District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received two submissions, one from the Council and the other from the Labour Group.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). On 1 April 2002 the functions of the LGCE were transfered to the Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 6 June 2002.

Map 1 Existing wards in North West Leicestershire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's final recommendations for North West Leicestershire; (PDF)

Map A1  illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the district and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Map A2 and the large map at the back of this report; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Ashby-de-la-Zouch; (PDF)

Large Map  (2.6 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Coalville; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 January 2002.

Map 1 Existing Wards in North West Leicestershire; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for North West Leicestershire; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed ward boundaries within the borough and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on Maps A2 and the large map; (PDF)

Map A2 illustrates the proposed warding of Ashby-de-la-Zouch; (PDF)

Large Map     (2.6 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Coalville. This may take some time to download; (PDF)