Draft and final recommendation reports for Leicestershire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Leicestershire County Council

image map View our final recommendations

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Leicestershire between May 2015 - December 2016. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Leicestershire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Leicestershire, was made on 8 November 2016.

New ward arrangements for Leicestershire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2017.

The order for Leicestershire can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2016/1070/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 June 2016 the Leicestershire (Electoral Changes) Order 2016 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Leicestershire, which were published on 5 April 2016.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Leicestershire County Council in 2017.

The draft order can be viewed here: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2016/9780111147740

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

Sheet 1 - Overview of the county (PDF)

 

On 5 April 2016 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Leicestershire County Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

•    Overview map of the Leicestershire County Council final recommendations (PDF)

To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

PDF maps of each individual ward can be found below. Please note each document is very large so may take some time to load.

•    Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards A-B (PDF)

   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards C-F (PDF)

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards G-K (PDF)

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards L (PDF)

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards M (PDF)

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards N-R (PDF)

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards S (PDF) 

•   Leicestershire County Council final recommendations - wards T-Z (PDF)

To receive the data files for this map in shapefile format please email your request to reviews@lgbce.org.uk.

We have now completed our electoral review of Leicestershire County Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2017.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

 

Consultation closed on 11 January 2016

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant document.

Local residents A-K (PDF)

Local residents L-Z (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

All of the parish and town council submissions we received are located in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

County Councillors

Cllr Coxon (PDF)

Cllr Eynon (PDF)

Cllr Feltham (PDF)

Cllr Hampson (PDF)

Cllr Houseman (PDF)

Cllr Hunt (PDF)

Cllr Knaggs (PDF)

Cllr Sheahan (PDF)

Cllr Shepherd (PDF)

District and Borough Councillors

Cllr Bentley (PDF)

Cllr Bond (PDF)

Cllr Breckon (PDF)

Cllr Charlesworth (PDF)

Cllr Denny (PDF)

Parish and Town Councillors

Town Councillors Asmal and Asmal (PDF)

TCllr Ball (PDF)

PCllr Bramley (PDF)

PCllr Knaggs (PDF)

PCllr Timson (PDF)

Borough and District Councils

Blaby District Council (PDF)

Charnwood Borough Council (PDF)

Harborough District Council (PDF)

Melton Borough Council (PDF)

North West Leicestershire District Council (PDF)

Oadby and Wigston Borough Council (PDF)

Local Authority

Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

Local organisations

Ashby de la Zouch Civic Society (PDF)

Wigston Civic Society (PDF)

MP

Edward Argar MP (PDF)

Alberto Costa MP (PDF)

Sir Alan Duncan MP (PDF)

Sir Edward Garnier MP (PDF)

Political Groups

Leicestershire Liberal Democrats (PDF)

North West Leicestershire Labour Group (PDF)

Petition

We received a petition to keep Melton Road, Simpson Close, Barkby Lane, Wilkes Way, Clover Way and The Meadway in Syston and not to become part of Thurmaston Ridgemere electoral division. The petition was signed by 157 residents. The petition can be foud below

Petition (PDF)

On 17 November 2015 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Leicestershire County Council. Between 17 November 2015 and 11 January 2016 we invited comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

*    Draft recommendations for Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

*    Summary of the report (PDF)

*    News release on draft recommendations for Leicestershire

*    Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

*    An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal.You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about our draft recommendations.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

Consultation closed on 21st July 2015

On 12 May 2015, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Leicestershire County Council. Between 12 May 2015 and 21 July 2015, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Below are the submissions that we recieved:

Local Residents:

All of the local resident submissions we received are contained in the documents below. 

Local Residents (PDF)

We also received a submission from:

Palmer A (PDF)

Local Organisations:

Ashby De La Zouch Civic Society (PDF)

East Leicestershire and Rutland CCG (PDF)

Saxon Paddock Committee (PDF)

Councillors:

All of the Councillors submissions we received are contained in the documents below. 

Councillors (PDF)

Parish Councils:

All of the Parish Councils submissions we received are contained in the documents below. 

Parish Councils (PDF)

Town Councils:

Ashby De La Zouch Town Council (PDF)

Shepshed Town Council (PDF)

Borough Councils:

Charnwood Borough Council (PDF)

Melton Borough Council (PDF)

Oadby and Wigston Borough Council (PDF)

Local Authority:

Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

Political Organisations:

Charnwood UKIP (PDF)

Leicestershire County Council Conservative Group (PDF)

Leicestershire County Council Labour Group (PDF)

Leicestershire County Council Liberal Democrats Group (PDF)

North West Leicestershire Labour Party (PDF)

Oadby Wigston Liberal Democrats Party (1) (PDF)

Oadby Wigston Liberal Democrats Party (2) (PDF)

Rutland and Melton Labour Party (PDF)

MP:

Rt Hon Sir Edward Garnier MP (PDF)

The Commission has also announced that it is minded to recommend that the county council should have 55 county councillors in the future, the same as current arrangements.

The Commission now needs information from people and groups across Leicestershire to help it to produce a new pattern of electoral divisions to accommodate 55 county councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Leicestershire County Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Leicestershire County Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Leicestershire County Council). We received 1 submission on council size.

A structural review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE), and was started on 10 May 1993

Final report (PDF) published on 15 December 1994

Draft report (PDF) published on 10 June 1994

The Boundary Committee for England (BCFE) began reviewing the electoral arrangements of Leicestershire County Council on 11 March 2003.

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Order refers to a map comprising Sheet 1, Sheet 2, Sheet 3 and Sheet 4. The Implementation Team section of The Electoral Commission's website explains how The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders.

Final recommendations , available for downloading.

Map sheet 1 illustrates in outline form the proposed divisions for Leicestershire County Council, including constituent district wards and parishes.

Map sheet 2 illustrates the proposed boundary between Braunstone Town and Enderby & Braunstone Town divisions in Blaby district.

Map sheet 3 contains map 2,   illustrating the proposed Wigston Bushloe, Wigston Poplars and Wigston South divisions in Oadby & Wigston borough. And map 3, illustrating the proposed Earl Shilton and Mallory divisions in Hinckley & Bosworth borough.

Map sheet 4  contains map 4,   illustrating the proposed Coalville and Ibstock & Appleby divisions in North West Leicestershire district. And map 5,   illustrating the proposed boundaries between the proposed parish wards in Glenfields parish, in Blaby district.

Draft recommendations , available for downloading.

Sheet 1 illustrates the proposed divisions for Leicestershire in outline form.

Sheet 2 illustrates proposed divisions for Braunstone in Blaby. 

Sheet 3 illustrates proposed divisions in Hinckley & Bosworth and Oadby & Wigston.