Draft and final recommendation reports for Leicester, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Leicester

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Leicester between June 2013 - December 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Leicester councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Leicester (Electoral Changes) Order 2014, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Leicester, was made on 16 December 2014 and was published on 22 December 2014. New ward arrangements for Leicester have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Leicester can be viewed through the following link:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2014/3339/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 30 October 2014 the Leicester (Electoral Changes) Order 2014 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Leicester and published on 12 August 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Leicester in 2015.

The draft order can be viewed here:

 http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2014/9780111122563/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the city council (PDF)

On 12 August 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Leicester City Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Leicester City Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Mayor of Leicester City Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Leicester City Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 11 March 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Leicester Council. Between 11 March 2014 and 20 May 2014 we invited comments on our draft recommendations.

Consultation closed on 20 May 2014

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

We received over 100 submissions from local residents. All local resident submissions are contained in four documents. At the front of each document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents - surnames A-E (PDF)

Local residents - surnames F-K (PDF)

Local residents - surnames L-P (PDF)

Local residents - surnames Q-Z (PDF)

The following 9 submissions are from anonymous members of the public.

Anonymous 1(PDF)

Anonymous 2(PDF)

Anonymous 3(PDF)  

Anonymous 4(PDF)  

Anonymous 5(PDF) 

Anonymous 6(PDF)  

Anonymous 7(PDF) 

Anonymous 8(PDF)  

Anonymous 9(PDF) 

Local organisations

We received 13 submissions from local organisations. All local organisation submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local organisations (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Porter (PDF)

MP

Mr Keith Vaz MP (PDF)

Political Groups

Leicester Conservative Association (PDF)

Leicester Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Our draft recommendations can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Leicester Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Leicester

Letter sent to the Mayor of Leicester City Council (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

You may find a map of polling districts (PDF) or the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding patterns for the City Council.

On 3 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Leicester City Council. Between 3 September 2013 and 11 November 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed 11 November 2013.

Below are the submissions we received:

Local residents

R Hinducha (PDF)

A Sergent (PDF)

J Slawson (PDF)

T Spilsbury (PDF)

We also received 2 late submissions:

Abraham (PDF)

Chauhan (PDF)

Political Groups

Leicester City Liberal Democrats (PDF)

Leicester City Labour Group (PDF)

City of Leicester Conservative Association (PDF) - the link mentioned in the Conservative Association's submission can be found here : https://mapsengine.google.com/map/viewer?mid=zXIsNdYCTfUM.kokdbL9YBEqY

Local Organisations

Highfields Association of Residents and Tenants (PDF)

City BCU Inspectors (PDF)

Below is the map of existing ward boundaries in Leicester. Click on the image for more detail:

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

You may find a map of polling districts (PDF) or the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding patterns for the City Council.

On 4 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Leicester City Council. From 4 June to 16 July we invited proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Leicester in the future.

Consultation closed on 16 July 2013

Below are the submissions we received:

Rickman J (PDF)

Wainwright G (PDF)

Desai Z (PDF)

Thompson M (PDF)

Cartwright M (PDF)

Pitchford-Todd J (PDF)

Tangen G (PDF)

Grant R (PDF)

Anonymous (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage a "council size". During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Leicester City Council and Leicester Conservative Group. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 54 members for Leicester City Council.

A letter sent to the Mayor of Leicester (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

To have your say on council size visit our consultation area.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the number of councillors for the city.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

Preliminary council size consultation

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Leicester City Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

This review was started by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). On 1 April 2002 the functions of the LGCE were transfered to the Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 6 June 2002.

Map 1  Existing wards in Leicester City; (PDF)

Map 2  The Commission's final recommendations for Leicester City; (PDF)

Large Map  (15.3 Mb) illustrates tthe existing and proposed ward boundaries for Leicester City. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 January 2002.

Map 1 Existing wards in Leicester City; (PDF)

Map 2 The Commission's draft recommendations for Leicester City; (PDF)

Large Map  (15.3 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed ward boundaries for Leicester City. This may take some time to download; (PDF)