LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Harborough

image map View our draft recommendations

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Harborough District Council.

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw ward boundaries across Harborough.

The consultation on draft recommendations closed on 8 May 2017.


On 14 March 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Harborough District Council. Between 14 March 2017 and 8 May 2017 we are invited comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Harborough District Council

·         Summary of the Harborough report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Harborough District Council

·         Letter sent to the Corporate Directors of Harborough District Council

·         An overview map of Harborough District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode.

You may find the electoral figures useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 9 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Harborough District Council

Parish and Town Councils:

Foxton Parish Council

Houghton on the Hill Parish Council

Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council

Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council and Kibworth Beauchamp Parish Council Joint

Shawell Parish Council

Thurnby and Bushby Parish Council

Local Residents:

Hankey D

Tomlin R

Warren J


On 25 October 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Harborough District Council. Between 25 October 2016 and 9 January 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission had also announced that it is minded to recommend that Harborough District Council should have 34 councillors in the future, a reduction of 3 from 37.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Harborough to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 34 councillors.

For more information, read our news release and the letter to the Corporate Directors of Harborough District Council.

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements. 

Polling district maps may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note, polling district mapping data has been supplied by Harborough District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Harborough polling district map (JPEG)

To view the existing warding arrangements, visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Harborough District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Harborough District Council). We received 1 submission on council size:

Harborough District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE). On 1 April 2002 the functions of the LGCE were transfered to the Boundary Committee for England (BCFE).

The Order implementing The Electoral Commission's decision on the final recommendations of this review has been made and can be viewed on Her Majesty's Stationery Office's website. The Implementation Team section of the Commission's website explains how the Commission's decisions on The Boundary Committee for England's final recommendations are made into Orders. The current boundaries of the electoral wards and divisions can be viewed on Ordnance Survey's election maps website. Parish warding is not shown on the election maps website. It can be seen on the mapping from the Committee's final recommendations below; any modifications are listed in the Explanatory Note at the back of the Order.

Final report (PDF), published on 6 June 2002.

Map 1 East  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 1 West  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 East  The Commission's final recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 West  The Commission's final recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map A1 illustrates, in outline form, the proposed boundaries for the Harborough area and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large map at the back of the report; (PDF)

Large map (3.6 Mb) illustrates the proposed warding arrangements for Broughton Astley, Lutterworth and Market Harborough; (PDF)

Draft report (PDF), published on 15 January 2002.

Map 1 East  Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 1 West Existing wards in Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 East The Commission's draft recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map 2 West The Commission's draft recommendations for Harborough; (PDF)

Map A1 Proposed boundaries for the Harborough area and indicates the areas which are shown in more detail on the large map; (PDF)

Large Map (3.6 Mb) illustrates the existing and proposed warding arrangements for Broughton Astley, Lutterworth and Market Harborough. This may take some time to download; (PDF)

Review Dates


Date from: Date to:
Consultation on division arrangements 25 October 2016
9 January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations 14 March 2017
8 May 2017
Final recommendations 11 July 2017