Draft and final recommendation reports for South Derbyshire, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

South Derbyshire

The Commission carried out an electoral review of South Derbyshire between October 2009 - February 2011. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each South Derbyshire councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in South Derbyshire, was made on 28 January 2011 and was published on 2 February 2011). New ward arrangements for South Derbyshire have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections on 5 May 2011.

The order for South Derbyshire can be viewed through the following link:

www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2011/165/contents/made

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 29 November 2010 the South Derbyshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in South Derbyshire and published on 12 October 2010.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for South Derbyshire in 2011.

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

On 12 October 2010 we published our final recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Derbyshire District Council. These can be found using the links below.

Please use the links below to access our final recommendations and associated documents.

Maps of the area recommendations:

Please note: some of these maps may be very large and may take some time to download.


On 25 May 2010 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of South Derbyshire District Council. These can be found using the links below.

On 27 October 2009, we started the further electoral review (FER) of South Derbyshire District Council.  Between 27 October and 18 January, we invited comments on the appropriate council size (number of members elected to the district council) and ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultations closed on 18 January 2010

The representations we received are available to view below: 

Local authority

South Derbyshire District Council (PDF)
South Derbyshire District Council additional information (PDF)

Political groups, Councillors and MPs

South Derbyshire District Council Labour group (PDF)
South Derbyshire Conservative Association (PDF)

Cllr Bale (PDF)
Cllr Hewlett (PDF)
Cllr Plenderleith (PDF)
Mark Todd MP (PDF)

Parish Councils

Aston-upon-Trent Parish Council(PDF)
Barrow-upon-Trent Parish Council (PDF)
Bretby Parish Council (PDF)
Burnaston Parish Council (PDF)
Castle Gresley Parish Council (PDF)
Coton-in-Elms Parish Council (PDF)
Egginton Parish Council (PDF)
Elvaston Parish Council (PDF)
Etwall Parish Council (PDF)
Findern Parish Council (PDF)
Hilton Parish Council (PDF)
Hatton Parish Council  (PDF)
Stenson Fields Parish Council (PDF)

Residents

B Foster (PDF)
M Bordoli (PDF)
SJ and CM Orme (PDF)
W Lythgoe (PDF)

The below links contain more information about this review.

You may find the electorate figures for South Derbyshire (XLS), appendices of these figures (XLS), and their rationale (PDF)) and maps of parished areas (PDF) and unparished areas (PDF)  useful.  Please also read our advice on how to propose a pattern of wards (PDF).

We produced two different documents to support people where there is an electoral review being conducted in their area: 

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE)

Final report (pdf) published on 24 November 1998.

Draft report (pdf) published on 30 June 1998.