Draft and final recommendation reports for High Peak, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

High Peak

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of High Peak between July 2013 - January 2015. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each High Peak councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in High Peak, was made on 27 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for High Peak have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015

The order for High Peak can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/78/pdfs/uksi_20150078_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 November 2014 the High Peak (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in High Peak and published on 23 September 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for High Peak in 2015.

The draft order can be found here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111123812/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 23 September 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in High Peak Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for HighPeak Borough  Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of High Peak Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image below to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of High Peak Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 15 April 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of High Peak Borough Council. Between 15 April 2014 and 24 June 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Consultation closed on 24 June 2014

Below are the submissions which we have received.

Local authorities

High Peak Borough Council (PDF)

Local residents

A-E (PDF)

DerbyshireS (PDF)

F-J (PDF)

K-P (PDF)

R-W (PDF)

Councillors

Councillors (PDF)

County council

Derbyshire County Council (PDF)

Political parties

High Peak Conservatives (PDF)

High Peak Labour (PDF)

 

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

On 22 October 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for High Peak Borough Council. Between 22 October 2013 and 7 January 2014, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The consultation closed on the 7 January

Below are the submissions we have received:

Local Residents

Local Residents Combined (PDF)

Political Parties

High Peak Conservatives (PDF)

High Peak Labour Group (PDF)

Members of Parliment

A Bingham MP (PDF)

Parish Councils

Chinley Parish Council (PDF)

Local Authority

High Peak Borough Council (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of High Peak Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode, and Have your say.

On 23 July 2013 we started an electoral review of High Peak Borough Council. From 23 July 2013 to 2 September 2013 we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent High Peak in the future.

Consultation closed on 3 September 2013

Below are the submissions we are received:

Anonymous (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr J Faulkner (PDF)

Cllr T Ashton (PDF)

Local residents

Foote S (PDF)

Teece P (PDF)

Sharp S (PDF)

Local organisations

Harpur Hill Residents Association (PDF)

Vision Buxton (PDF)

Political groups

High Peak Liberal Democrats (PDF)

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage ‘council size’. During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from High Peak Borough Council and Councillor J Faulkner. Their submissions are available below under preliminary council size. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on its proposal for a council size of 43 members for High Peak Borough Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF) and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013 and 2014.

You may find a map of the polling districts (PDF) or the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about the number of councillors for the borough.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under. The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in October. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with High Peak Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 2 submissions on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (pdf) published on 24 November 1998.

Draft report (pdf) published on 30 June 1998.

Useful Documents