Draft and final recommendation reports for Erewash, carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE)\; available for download.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Erewash

image map

The Commission carried out an electoral review of Erewash between June 2013 - July 2014. The aim of the review was to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections and recommend ward boundaries that means each councillor represented approximately the same number of electors.

 

Our review aimed to ensure that each Erewash councillor represented roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflected the interests and identities of local communities.

Recommendations become law

The Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 2015, to implement recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) for new boundaries in Erewash, was made on 27 January 2015 and was published 30 January 2015. New ward arrangements for Erewash have now successfully completed a 40 day period of Parliamentary scrutiny and will come into force at the local elections in 2015.

The order for Erewash can be viewed through the following link:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/2015/77/pdfs/uksi_20150077_en.pdf

Draft order laid in Parliament

On 27 November the Erewash (Electoral Changes) Order 2015 was laid in draft in Parliament.

The draft order if made would give effect to the final recommendations that were consulted on during the Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s review of electoral arrangements in Erewash and published on 29 July 2014.

The draft order will be laid in Parliament for a period of 40 sitting days. Parliament can either accept or reject our recommendations. If accepted, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the next scheduled elections for Erewash in 2015.

The draft order can be found here:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukdsi/2015/9780111123805/contents

The draft order refers to a map. The map comprises the following sheets:

•    Sheet 1 - Overview of the district (PDF)

On 29 July 2014 we published final recommendations for future electoral arrangements in Erewash Borough Council. The report is available in the link below.

•    Final recommendations for new local government electoral arrangements for Erewash Borough Council (PDF)

•    Summary of the report (PDF)

•    News release

•    Letter to the Chief Executive of Erewash Borough Council (PDF)

An overview map of the final recommendations (PDF) is available. To interact with the final recommendations mapping click on the image above to visit our consultation area. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries and search by area or postcode.

We have now completed our electoral review of Erewash Borough Council. The changes we have proposed must be approved by parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force our recommendations will be laid before parliament. The draft Order will provide for new electoral arrangements for the council to be implemented at the local elections in 2015.

Opinion Survey

We would like to invite you to participate in our online survey. The survey seeks feedback on the review processes and procedures, in order to identify improvements that can be made. We would be grateful if you could spare some time to complete the opinion survey.

On 12 February 2014 we published our draft recommendations for the further electoral review (FER) of Erewash Borough Council. Between 12 February 2014 and 28 April 2014 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations. These can be found using the links below.

Draft recommendations for Erewash Council (PDF)

Summary of the report (PDF)

News release on draft recommendations for Erewash

Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Erewash Borough Council (PDF)

This consultation is now closed.

Below are the submissions which we have received: 

Councillors

Cllr Hart (PDF)

Cllr McGraw (PDF)

Local authority

Derbyshire County Council (PDF)

Local residents

Local residents A-H (PDF)

Local residents L-T (PDF) 

SouthgateB (PDF)

PenwickG (PDF)

SaltA (PDF)

HughsonP (PDF)

Parish councils

Parish councils (PDF)

Political groups

Erewash conservative group (PDF)

Erewash Labour group (PDF)

We recieved stock letters relating to the Stanley area which have been combined into one PDF document, please see below.

Stock letters (PDF)

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and Have your say.

An overview map of our draft recommendations (PDF) is available.

On 3 September 2013, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Erewash Borough Council. Between 3 September 2013 and 11 November 2013, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

Consultation closed 11 November 2013

Below are the submissions we received

Local residents

We received 16 submissions from local residents. All submissions are contained in one document. At the front of the document is a list of names with links to the relevant submission.

Local residents (PDF)

Councillors

Cllr Broughton (PDF)

Cllr Clare (PDF)

Cllr Custance (PDF)

Cllr D Orchard (PDF)

Cllr M Orchard (PDF)

Cllr Walton (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

Breadsall Parish Council (PDF)

Breaston Parish Council (PDF)

Dale Abbey Parish Council (PDF)

Draycott and Church Wilne Parish Council (PDF)

Ockbrock and Borrowash Parish Council (PDF)

Ockbrook and Borrowash Parish Council no.2 (PDF)

Stanton-by-Dale Parish Council (PDF)

Political Groups

Erewash Labour Group (PDF)

Erewash Conservative Group (PDF)

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Erewash Borough Council (PDF)

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or postcode.

On 4 June 2013 we started an electoral review of Erewash Borough Council. From 4 June to 16 July we are inviting proposals for the number of councillors who should represent Erewash in the future. 

The first stage of an electoral review is to determine the number of councillors who should represent the local authority in the future. We call this stage "council size" . During the preliminary stage of the review, the Commission received proposals from Erewash Borough Council and political groups. Their submissions are available below. The Commission has considered these submissions and is now seeking views on whether Erewash should have a council size of either 43 or 47 members for Erewash Council.

A letter sent to the Chief Executive (PDF), Erewash council size guidance and our public news release provide more details on this consultation and the review in general.

Consultation closed on 16 July 2013 

Below are the submissions we received:

Local Residents

We received 72 submissions from local residents. These submissions are contained in the documents below. At the front of each document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Local residents - surnames A-H (PDF)

Local residents - surnames I-Z (PDF)

Parish and Town Councils

We received 9 submissions from parish and town councils. These submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Parish and Town Councils (PDF)

Councillors

We received 14 submissions from councillors. These submissions are contained in the document below. At the front of the document there is a list of names with links to the relevant submissions.

Councillors (PDF)

Local Organisations

Ilkeston Chamber of Commerce and Trade (PDF)

Political Groups

UKIP (PDF)

Sandiacre Conservative Branch (PDF)

We will be considering the number, names and boundaries of wards during two further periods of public consultation later in 2013.

Guidance is available on our Guidance page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The next consultation on ward boundaries will be in September. You can visit our consultation area to register for a consultation reminder.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Erewash Borough Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on the Council). We received 3 submissions on council size.

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (pdf) published on 24 February 1998.

Draft report (pdf) published on 30 June 1998.

Useful Documents