The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Bolsover District Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Bolsover District Council.

" />

LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Bolsover

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more
image map Have your say

The Commission is carrying out an electoral review of Bolsover District Council. 

 

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each district councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

 

We also aim to ensure that the pattern of wards reflects the interests and identities of local communities as well as promoting effective local government. In order to achieve these aims, we need to re-draw boundaries across Bolsover District Council.

On 11 April 2017, we published our draft recommendations for the electoral review of Bolsover District Council. Between 11 April 2017 and 19 June 2017 we are inviting comments on our draft recommendations.

·         Draft recommendations for Bolsover District Council

·         Summary of the Bolsover report

·         News release on draft recommendations for Bolsover District Council

·         Letter sent to the Chief Executive of Bolsover District Council

·         An overview map of Bolsover District Council draft recommendations is available. Please note: this map is very large and may take some time to download.

To interact with the draft recommendations mapping visit our consultation portal. You can view both the existing and proposed boundaries, searching by area or postcode, and have your say.

You can also make a submission to the Bolsover electoral review through our consultation area, by sending an e-mail to reviews@lgbce.org.uk, or writing in to the following address:

   The Review Officer (Bolsover)

   Local Government Boundary Commission for England

   14th Floor Millbank Tower

   Millbank

   London

   SW1P 4QP

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about division arrangements.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

The consultation on warding arrangements closed on the 30 January 2017.

Listed below are the submissions we received for this stage of the consultation:

Local Authority:

Bolsover District Council Labour Group

North Derbyshire Conservatives

Local Organisations:

Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service

Parish and Town Councils:

Hodthorpe and Belph Parish Council

Langwith Parish Council (1)

Langwith Parish Council (2)

Scarcliffe Parish Council

Whitewell Parish Council


Local Residents:

The submissions from local residents have been collated into one document below. They have been sorted alphabetically, by surname.

Local Residents 


On 22nd November 2016, we started the first period of consultation for a pattern of wards for Bolsover District Council. Between 22nd November 2016 and 30th January 2017, we invited comments on the ward boundaries for the authority.

The Commission announced that it was minded to recommend that Bolsover District Council should have 37 councillors in the future, which is the same number as present.

The Commission needed information from people and groups across Bolsover to help it to produce a new pattern of wards to accommodate 37 councillors.

For more information read our news release and the letter to the Chief Executive of Bolsover District Council (PDF).

You may find the electoral figures (XLS) useful when thinking about warding arrangements.

The polling district map may also be useful when thinking about warding arrangements. You can view the polling district map below. Please note polling district mapping data has been supplied by Bolsover District Council and may contain boundary errors.

Polling district map (PDF) 

To view the existing warding arrangements visit our consultation area. You can search by area or post code.

Guidance is available on our Guidance Page. You may also wish to read our document Electoral Reviews: Technical Guidance, which contains detailed guidance on the review process and information on the legislation reviews are carried out under.

As part of the preliminary process we consulted with Bolsover District Council on the most appropriate council size (the number of councillors on Bolsover District Council).

We received one submission on council size:

Bolsover District Council

This review was carried out by the Local Government Commission for England (LGCE).

Final report (PDF) published on 24 November 1998.

Draft report (PDF) published on 30 June 1998.

Review Dates


Dates from Dates to
Consultation on warding arrangements:
22nd November 2016
30th January 2017
Consultation on draft recommendations:
11th April 2017
19th June 2017
Final recommendations:
5th September 2017

Have Your Say

Visit our consultation area

Find out more